One To One World

Vibeke Christensen – Profile

vibeke christensen_r


As you will probably gather from my name, I am not English, but Danish by birth.

Despite being of Scandinavian origin, I have learned over the 44 years I lived and worked in England, to speak English with no trace of an accent. In fact several English friends have been surprised when they learn that I am Danish, telling me that I speak the language better than many native speakers. English has become my first language over the years and learning to speak it eloquently and correctly, continues to be a passion of mine. This also means that I have an understanding of some of the difficulties of learning English as a second language and have found ways of overcoming these difficulties.

I have been an educator for over 30 years, in both formal and informal educational settings, from youth clubs to university.  Working with a wide variety of people around personal and organisational development, I specialise in creating learning situations that stimulate individual learning and help students attain their goals and aspirations.

vibeke01I am a friendly, open kind of person who loves meeting new people and finding out what interests them. As an example of this I set up a community theatre group in the small market town in the Alpujarras in southern Spain, where I now live. Our aim is to help integrate this very culturally diverse community – there are 26 different nationalities registered at the local primary school. In our first year we had 73 people of all ages and origins involved in the production and I just love seeing people come together to explore their creativity and having fun in the process. I also sing in a local choir with Spanish, English and German friends and perform regularly around the area.

Our house is a 15 minute walk from Orgiva . We have a self-contained guest room on the first floor, which is en suite and has a large and beautiful south facing terrace .


The house is an old farmhouse with high ceilings and was described by a Spanish friend as very romantic. It is simple and rustic, combining Spanish and Scandinavian styles. The kitchen is in the centre of the house with a large table and a wonderfully efficient Norwegian stove, that keep both living and sleeping quarters snug and cosy in the winter months.

I share the house with my 32 year old son Duncan, who works locally as a builder and our 2 lady dogs Alma and Lucky, who are both very friendly.

Órgiva is in the centre of the Alpujarras and described by the Spanish as the Switzerland of Spain – beautiful and green with snow capped mountains. For this reason it is very popular with Spanish and foreign holiday makers, particularly walkers and cyclists. Orgiva is the district capital of the Alpujarras and as well as offering the usual facilities; banks, shops and restaurants, it also has a colourful programme of live music, exhibitions and arts events.

My aim would be to make the English learning enjoyable and designed to suit each individual student, focusing on and exploring what interests them.  We might take trips out to places of interest, have lunch with a few English friends or attend any of the exhibitions or arts and music event that frequently happen in our very interesting little town.

I look forward to meeting you and welcoming you into our home.